First Impression: Ashes of Love/ Heavy Sweetness Ash Like Frost (香蜜沉沉烬如霜)

73cdead9gy1fu0fhx3kj8j21a81kvdqn

An early first impression based on the first seven episodes. If you guys are interested I will do a few more posts before posting my final review. They could be discussion posts or mid-point reviews. Sadly, I won’t be recapping it. I just don’t have time to do a full recap.

Edit: Added a link to a blog that is recapping the drama.

First episode is being fan-subbed on youtube, added link. 

Overall Impression:

I am a fan of xianxias and I read this book a few years ago, so my expectations were really high when I first heard of this adaptation. As previews started coming out, my expectations dropped. I didn’t like the aesthetics or their outfits. Some supporting characters that were being introduced were barely present in the original story, which made me afraid of major changes. That being said after watching the first seven episodes, I am happy with this drama. It is just what I wanted. I have some minor issues here and there but nothing major.

Character Portrayal:

I knew YangZi could pull off silly/ditzy really well and she has good comedic timing for her role. I think I was one of the few people that were really happy with this casting from the get go. Yang Zi is a good actress and anyone who has seen Battle of Changsha can attest that she is one of the best of her generation. In the past few years she has been getting stuck in these ditzy roles which makes me really sad. But out of all her ditzy roles, I would say JinMi is one of the better ones. While the character is very silly she has a lot of growth to go through and YangZi’s ability to pull off emotional and more serious scenes will come in handy later on the drama. So far she matches her character in the book. She is just this clueless sheltered girl that wants more power.

As for Deng Lun, I was also happy with the casting. He wasn’t who I pictured as Phoenix, but I felt like he could pull it off. If you were having doubts after some teasers came out, I am happy to say that on screen he fits the role much better. My issue so far is the lipstick. In some scenes he has more lipstick than YangZi. I don’t know if it was the contrast to make their skin lighter and smoother but they need to tone it down a bit.

Luo Yunxi as Night was never one of my top picks. And I had major issues with his outfits since they didn’t fit his image from the novel. That being said he has the right affect so far and I see potential. He is the weakest actor of the main leads, but it doesn’t show much as of now. We will see later in the drama when he has to deal with complex emotions. One of the problems is that he doesn’t look like the older brother and at times seems much younger than Deng Lun.

As for the supporting cast, I see some familiar faces. So far they haven’t really had a lot of screen time and I don’t remember their character enough to effectively compare them. No one stands out as awkward which is all that I ask for. I am curious about Chen YuQi’s character. She hasn’t had a lot of screen time, but from the intro I sense a second love story, which was not in the book. I am happy with this change since I was afraid they were going to pair her up with Phoenix. An interesting secondary love story could be just the right addition.

Graphics:

I have seen some divided opinions about the graphics. I personally think they are really good so far. Settings look beautiful, especially the Flower realm. I love the aesthetics and the ladies look pretty and simple. Some scenes do look as if they are using a green screen and animal CGIs are always lacking, but this is a TV drama and we can’t expect Marvel level CGI.

2qno1y5iyzgy0f9vcv4ffmf3y54st94xrxgy6ewpiw96arq8dq

Isn’t it pretty?

OSTs:

Intro

Ending

 

OTP song

Veredict:

If you like xianxias, you will probably like this. I am hoping the drama keeps up the fast pace and doesn’t deviate too much from its original material.  OTP is adorable and I am expecting a lot of cute moments before all the angst.

006Jahztgy1fu0eixqqteg30k00bbkjx

Awww ❤

786jd2f7oqu9c8v52w7ionvkn

Sadly, there are no subtitles so far. I am hoping it gets licensed or that fans start subbing it on Youtube that way everyone can enjoy this drama. I am liking it so much that I am re-reading the book. It has been a while since I have felt excited about watching a drama so that should tell you something.

Schedule:

So far the drama is doing pretty good on ratings with a 7.1 on douban and leading its TV time-slot.

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.47.49 AM

006IHhCXly1ftzszc0vdhj30u01hd7wh

Drama reached 1 billion views in six days. Congrats to the cast! I have a feeling it will do really good on views and ratings.

2mwk6q8pl6tt1325e25htrv65

Poor guy he is a goner:

6a23d2evzlw27tgb192jflnig

Are you watching? What do you think so far?

EDIT: This blog is posting recaps of each episode. Please make sure to thank them for their effort 😊

Eng Subs

EDIT: Viki licensed it as Ashes of Love.

33 thoughts on “First Impression: Ashes of Love/ Heavy Sweetness Ash Like Frost (香蜜沉沉烬如霜)

  1. I got up to episode 16 and couldn’t really get into it. The pacing of the drama was just too slow for me and not much really happens. I think I might have a go at the book and maybe it will change my mind.

    Like

  2. Interestingly, the very first drama I watched of YZ is chusen where she played a very serious role so I that was my first impression of her. hahah but then all the dramas after was her in ditzy, silly, naive roles.
    I started watching because of this review and I sat thru 8 episodes in 1 sitting!! The setting is so pretty. Deng Lun didn’t grow on me until ep 6/7? when they were in the demon realm. Jinmi is so cute and funny. I love that she’s so naive and doesn’t even know what love is. The humor in this drama is definitely a plus for me. >.<

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you like it! I also marathoned the first few episodes 😀
      My first Yang Zi drama was also Chusen and I was not a fan of her character. Then I saw her on Ode to Joy and Battle of Changsha, the later was the one that impressed me. It is honestly so sad that she has gotten stuck with these ditzy roles. After Ode to Joy they keep giving her the same character. I think Jinmi is one of the few ones where her silliness actually comes off as likable since you are able to understand how she ended up that way.

      Like

  3. Iam not reading the book .. but start read the recap of book when i start watch this drama … so far i like it… about cgi so far so good … about the both main lead i like see they interactions they so cute together …. up till eps 9 still save the mood not see triangle love

    Like

    1. For me there is never a love triangle bc she never loves the other guy. She is manipulated into feeling sorry for him and she also has trouble understanding her own emotions due to the unfeeling pill.

      Like

        1. It was pretty obvious in the book, I don’t know what they will do in the drama.

          I don’t even think Night loved her in the book. Some people might not agree. He was just obsessed with her in the end but it wasnt love. She was just another piece on his game and I think it bothered him that she didn’t love him back.

          Liked by 1 person

      1. Run Yu was really sly. I can almost understand why, but I still cannot forgive him for the manipulation. Initially I quite dig his brotherhood with Feng Huang, but after that scene, I started to feel less attracted to him. I also read that in the novel he didn’t have such a close relationship with Feng Huang, so I guess I would have disliked him outright in the novel. 😛

        Like

        1. I can’t forgive him for how he used her. I don’t think he treated her like someone he loved but as a pawn. While they were not that friendly in the book, he was also very sly there. You feel sorry for him. He is a master manipulator.

          Like

  4. I gave up waiting for the subbed so I am watching it raws like the rest of the desperate fans. 😢 Luckily there’s a fan that is summarizing the episodes on his/her blog so I’m grateful for that.

    I don’t like some of the outfits but overall I loved everything else, cheesy cgi and all. I also loved the behind the scenes clips… Jinmi is really adorkable in real life… DENGLUN I been knew his personality cuz I watched a bunch of his variety shows!! 😂

    Like

    1. If you want to I can link to the person summarizing the episodes on the post.
      I have so many issues with some outfits but I am letting it go 😀 YangZi doesnt take herself too seriously in real life so she is a lot of fun and like you said adorkable. I think she probably got along pretty well with DengLun.

      Like

      1. I quite like the outfits actually lol. Her ‘shameless’ promo run in her Weixin friends circle to get help in promoting the drama was adorable. And also how she handled that scandal in the past few days. My love for her really grew a lot in the past week because of how she is like in real life. Adorable girl.

        Like

    2. I’m in your boat… lucky found a site that recap every episode grateful for that soul too… Liking it so far but feel a bit slow…i’m fine with the costume for the most part, but what up with his feather outfit lolz, pretty scenery…

      I’m going to put it on hold and wait for the subbed hopefully DF or Viki will pick it up.

      Like

  5. I like Jinmi as the clueless, power hungry, little grape fairy. Especially when she is in her brown-nose mode. Her voice and the way she speaks only added to her adorable-ness. I’m afraid I won’t like her and phoenix pairing as much when the crying and the angst begin.

    Like

    1. Yeah, she is so funny. I adore her.
      I always hate all the angst but I remember feeling like it was necessary during the novel. It allows Jinmi to grow as a character. That being said she never stops being her silly self. But yes we are going to suffer.

      Like

      1. Sigh, well for Jin Mi I had in mind Zhou Dongyu and later Guan Xiaotong since they both has baby-face and I imagine Jin Mi be kid-like due to her unfeeling nature. For the Phoenix, unfortunately, at the time I red novel I was very obsessed with Nicholas Tse , so I strongly imagine Phoenix portrayed by him. But he is too old for that role now so….Shawn Dou would be good candidate for Phoenix too. As for Night hm I don’t know I can’t imagine anybody particular maybe Mao Zijun (poison lord from Chusen, he staring in Yang Zi’s White Snake right now) or Song Weilong.

        Like

        1. Oooooh omg Shawn would be an awesome Phoenix. So is Mao Zijun for Night.
          For Jin Mi, I would pick Wu Qian. Quirky and silly is her forte lol.
          But overall, the casting of Yang Zi as Jin Mi was fine with me. I wasn’t that at excited of her casting because she was getting cast in a lot of things already lol. I think her casting for the Squid drama was the one where I didn’t think she fit the description of the character as much. For Ashes of Love, I think she fits Jin Mi.
          I just never imagine Deng Lun as Phoenix or that Luo Yunxi as Night…

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Ong yes I am still upset over her casting for Squid. She just doesn’t fit the lolita image I had for her character. That one was a miss for me for casting on both their roles. At least they are good actors so there is hope.
            Wu Qian would have been a good JinMi too.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I was skeptical of her casting… but then I saw more of the stills and posters and I just lowered a lot of my expectations on her character lol. Maybe it’s just me but I didn’t like how they’re styling her? Didn’t look too flattering on Yang Zi. But I’ll still watch the drama anyway lol since the acting should be solid.

              Like

        2. I think Shawn would have been good too. I really like Mao Zijun too, he would have done a great Night. Song Weilong looks a bit young even if he does have the look that I associate with Night.

          Like

        3. Omg MZJ for night would have been perfect!! I can totally see it.
          Nothing against Luo Yunxi. He’s doing okay so far but as Fireflymaoh said, he often times look more like the little bro than big bro.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.