[Review] Mark Chao & Lin Geng Xin: A Bromance Special

So far in 2017, I found two new favorite actors, Mark Chao and Lin Geng Xin. They also happen to be best friends and have the cutest bromance.

After they picked my interested, I decided to watch some their movies.

I started watching Mark Chao’s movies while I was watching Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms. First Time and So Young were great. I recommend them if you like first love stories.

First Time  

My Score: 8.5                       Douban: 6.2

It starts really slow, but if you wait a little you will be pleasantly surprised. I tend to like any movie that surprises me and this one did.

So Young

My Score: 8.0                       Douban: 6.6

This one is a bit more realistic about the ups and downs of life and how things change when you grow up. Not for everyone.

Then, I discovered Lin Gengxin and decided to check out their movies together. I feel like none of them really did their chemistry justice. However, Young Detective Dee would be my favorite of the two by a long shot. It doesn’t mean that I found the movie really good, I just didn’t really care for Black and White: Dawn of Justice.

Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon

My Score: 7.5       Douban: 6.6

Black and White 2: The Dawn of Justice (a skip from me)

My score: 5.5         Douban: 5.4

As for Lin Geng Xin’s other movies, I really enjoyed My Old Classmate and Swordmaster. My Old Classmate is another first love story, it gave me similar feelings to So Young. While Swordmaster was a surprisingly entertaining martial arts movie.

My Old Classmate

My Score: 8.5       Douban: 5.8

Swordmaster 

My score: 7.5         Douban: 4.9

And then I just kept watching all Lin Geng Xin movies. For the rest, he had more of a supporting role with the exception of For A Few Bullets.

Taking of Tiger Mountain

My score: 5.5         Douban: 7.1

It wasn’t that bad of a movie and I actually really liked Lin Geng Xin’s character. It was just not my type of movie.

For A few Bullets

My score: 6.0         Douban: 5.1

The plot was a bit all over the place. Lin Geng Xin was funny, but not enough to save the messy plot. Watch if you are bored and like Lin Geng Xin.

Journey to the West: The Demon Strikes back

My score: 6.5         Douban: 5.6

This was not as bad as I expected it to be. The CGIs were awful, but it was funny. So I give it props for making me laugh. There were moments where the movie felt a bit lost and draggy.

The Great Wall

My score: 6.5         Douban: 4.9

Another one that was not as bad as I expected it to be. Lin Geng Xin had a small supporting role but he stood out. CGIs were pretty good. What bothered me was that some scenes served no purpose other than to show you a pretty scene and it was very obvious. The movie had too many characters and maybe it is because I recognize all the big name celebrities playing these roles, but it bothered me.

I didn’t care for their other movies from the trailer or after watching part of them. I tried watching Chronicles of the Ghostly Tribe with Mark Chao, which is on Netflix, but I just couldn’t finish it. I found it boring and just a big mess. Some movies I couldn’t find like Caught in the Web with Mark Chao and his wife Gao Yuan Yuan.

As you can see my opinion and the consensus from Douban are really different. So it just depends on what you like. I would also like to note that Douban is usually pretty harsh with ratings.

As for my opinion about their acting abilities, I believe Mark Chao is a more seasoned actor. He also plays a wider range of roles. To me, it seems like they keep giving Lin Geng Xin two types of characters. I hope he is able to expand himself a bit more, he has a lot of potential. I am really impressed with what he is doing with Yuwen Yue in Princess Agents. He said in an interview that never played another love story after My Old Classmate because he felt he should only do that type of role once. I personally think he should try more romantic roles. Overall, his characters come off very likable. I do like his serious roles more than his goofy ones. Maybe because his goofy roles feel like he is playing himself and I like to see him step out of his comfrot zone.Now after watching tidbits for both Princess Agents and Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms, I understand how these two are such good friends.

Watch a clip of Lin Geng Xin calling Mark Chao for a Happy Camp episode.

Fans will often see them together and they like to post pictures of each other on their weibo.

😛

Mark Chao to Lin Geng Xin on Lin Geng Xin’s birthday: Happy Birthday, brother.

Lin Geng Xin getting back at Mark Chao when Princess Agents started airing.

Gao Yuan Yuan has to share her hubby. She even said that sometimes she feels like the third wheel. But she seems really cool about it.

And joke with each other. Here Gao Yuan Yuan posted this picture, asking Xiao Xin (Lin Geng Xin’s nickname) how he felt about this?

If you can’t get enough of these two best friends, don’t worry. You will be able to see these besties together next year since they are filming Young Detective Dee 2 right now.

 

17 thoughts on “[Review] Mark Chao & Lin Geng Xin: A Bromance Special

  1. They are the cutest! I had to read the post 2x because I kept looking at the pics haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE it!! Wasn’t the same voice actor used to dub their voices in Ten Miles & Princess Agents?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think that voice actor did most of the big drama male leads from last year and this year. He’s doing great as a voice actor, but he also went to film school, wonder if he ever regrets not being in front of the camera.

      Like

      • I think he is too popular right now. He is in like every big drama and it is a little hard not to picture some other face to his voice. Sometimes he has two dramas out at the same time. But I do like his voice a lot, just wish they would spread him out a bit more.

        Like

    • yes they have the same dubber, which is funny. And it turns out they have the top 2 dramas for online views so far. Great year for both of them.

      Like

  3. I’ve seen them a lot in pics together. How did the two meet?

    Like

    • I am guessing they met while filming Young Detective Dee and they just hit it off right away. I know Mark recommended LGX for Black & White 2. So they have known each other for like four years now. They seem like super close friends.

      Like

  4. I remember watching a clip of them at being interviewed at Angelababy and Huang Xiaoming’s wedding. Mark said we are the Mark Chao couple and Gao Yuan Yuan. The look on her face shows that she is used to this kind of treatment whenever they get together. Poor Yuan Yuan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lmao seriously poor Gao Yuan Yuan. I do think they all three get along really well. I saw LGX complaining the other day that Mark was ignoring him bc of his wife lol Mark has to please two people 😛

      Like

  5. SO WHICH ONE OF THEM IS GAY???😚😚😚

    Like

  6. I really like your review about Mark Chao and Lin Geng Xin. May I translate your article into Vietnamese? I will cite the source. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

