First Impressions: Love & Life & Lie

img_0109

img_3485

Up to Ep5 and I am not sure why i am still watching! 🙂 It is a Spot-The-Cliche bonanza with the switched at birth backstory, spunky- poor-girl-with-attitude pitted against the spoilt-awful-rich-girl who fall in love with the male lead and the usual array of evil side characters plotting to separate the OTP (which there are so many of them!!!) BUT somehow, something keeps me watching and here I am!

I think it’s the Chen Xiao (Li Yao Nan) -Zhou Dong Yu (Liu Xin Tong)combo. Those 2 have a urban romantic nonchalance chemistry (liked their interactions at the vet) spiced with some sexy vibes which makes the relationship feel realistic for the early 20s set – not too angsty or overly passionate yet adult at the same time. I do like Liu Xin Tong as well – it’s my first time watching Zhou Dong Yu and I like that she is not your typical beauty with her small eyes and her personality does shine through compared to the second female lead. I can see why Yao Nan fell for her. And Chen Xiao – he does the urbane young man so well , polished but with a heart (not a supersized one like the second male lead but realistically sufficient!) That side eyed smirk from the Legend of Lu Zhen is back!

It helps that Jia Jing Hui who plays the second male lead Ji Zhen Yu is also a hottie and Ye Qing playing the second female lead Ji Zhi Zhen is so detestable. Interested to see his storyline and can’t wait for her comeuppance !

Not sure how much longer I will continue watching as I suspect that the dogblood scenes are coming. But for now, it’s meeting my quota for a light rom-com so let’s see where it goes!

4 thoughts on “First Impressions: Love & Life & Lie

  1. Haha me too. 10 eps in and I was questioning how I could still stand it, but I haven’t continued since ep 10 as the dogblood scenes have started. The thing that really made me continue was Chen Xiao’s character Yao Nan. He playfully teases Xin Tong but he doesn’t overly mess with her like some other youth dramas. But sadly the forced seperation and melo direction it’s heading won’t keep me watching, maybe I’ll check out the last episode when it comes out so that there is some sort of closure haha.

    Like

  2. Is it just me or is the editing really choppy?
    I’m so sad, I’ve been waiting for this drama since I first heard about it back in 2015. Now I finally get to watch it and I don’t like anything about it. It reminds me of the Korean drama “Cinderella and her four Knights”.

    I’ve only watched up to episode 2 but I even want to watch it anymore. As you said it’s chalked full of cliches, someone will probably get cancer and lose their memories, if they haven’t already. I hate all their dubbed voices (I hate voice dubbing in general but these voices are especially annoying). I understand why there needs to be dubbing in historical dramas but what’s up with dubbing in modern dramas? Ugh.

    I feel like the acting could be better. I’ve seen other works of Chen Xiao and Zhou Dongyu, I know they could do better. But in the 2 episodes I’ve seen it’s like they aren’t even trying. I loved those 2 but this drama has really shown me their acting weak points. Or maybe the voice actors are just too over powering.

    Hell, I feel like everything could have been better. It’s like they’ve put all the budget money into all the flashy stuff on screen that they’ve got really little budget for anything else.

    Also, on last thing. A very trivial thing, but everyone in this drama is just so stuck thin skinny that I can help but wonder if they’re all eating on set… or ever. I can’t even stand to look at them they’re so skinny.

    Like

    • I made it to Ep 13 🙂 Then my brain kicked in ! I actually thought Chen Xiao and Zhou Dong Yu did pretty well considering the flimsy script . But I really hope Chen Xiao can pick a better drama to showcase his looks .. ooops talent 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

