[FEATURE] Yang Mi’s Leading Men

If you don’t know already, I am a HUGE fan of Yang Mi. She is one of the reasons why I began watching C-dramas. Even though, I will admit, she is not the best actress out there, I still love watching her dramas. However, this post will not specifically be about Yang Mi. Rather, it will be about the MALE ACTORS that have starred alongside her in her dramas as the female lead. Many of them are reputable and popular actors. However, did you know that a few of them have become successful because of their drama with Yang Mi? Yep, that’s right. That’s how powerful Yang Mi really is in the Chinese entertainment industry. So, are you ready? Below are several male actors that have starred alongside her in her dramas (not movies).

HERE WE GO!

Hawick Lau/Liu Kai Wei (刘恺威)
First off, we have Yang Mi’s husband! It just makes sense to start off with him because, well, he is the man that belongs to our powerful actress. I have actually not watched the dramas that starred the two of them. However, I do know that after the filming of Ru Yi, which is the first drama they both starred together, they both started dating. They then reunited to film A Clear Midsummer Night. There are rumors in C-ent that both of them will reunite in a drama, which will be a spin-off to Yang Mi’s previous dramas The Interpreters and The Negotiator. This drama will be called The Prosecutor. But this is just rumors, so who really knows…
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Ru Yi (2012) & A Clear Midsummer Night (2013)

 

William Feng/Feng Shao Feng (冯绍峰)
Starring in Yu Zheng’s Palace/Gong drama was that brought fame to both Yang Mi and Feng Shao Feng. The drama was so successful that both of these two stars were always together for the year of 2011 and 2012. Hence, why they filmed a few more dramas as love interests and even appeared in The Painted Skin sequel together. There were also rumors about the two dating, but nothing was really confirmed. It was until Yang Mi was revealed to be dating Hawick that rumors of her and Feng Shao Feng being together died down. Regardless, these two stars were one of the hottest onscreen couple back then.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Palace (2011), Symphony of Fate (2011), Legend of the Military Seal (2012)

 

Hu Ge (胡歌)
Ahh… Hu Ge. Yang Mi is one of the infamous leading ladies that got the chance to romance our handsome bachelor Hu Ge, and she got to do it TWICE. They both first starred together in the mini-drama series Fairies of Liao Zhai, where they portrayed the iconic A Chinese Ghost Story storyline. This was my first Yang Mi drama ever, and I thought she portrayed the pitiful and seductive Nie Xiao Qian beautifully. Yang Mi and Hu Ge had great onscreen chemistry in this drama, which was probably why they came back together to film Chinese Paladin 3 as the main couple. In addition, both Yang Mi and Hu Ge have been rumored to have been dating in the past, but this was never really confirmed. However, I think there may have been a possibility of them dating because she did go on a vacation to Egypt with Hu Ge and a few people from Tangren, including Liu Shi Shi, and who really does that out of the blue right? But, in all honesty, who really knows but the two of them…
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Fairies of Liao Zhai (2005) & Chinese Paladin 3 (2009)

 

Justin Yuan/Yuan Hong (袁弘)
I have not watched the drama with these two together. So, I cannot give any opinion on it. However, I did watch Chinese Paladin 3 and, even though they weren’t a couple in there, they were about to be married in it. Haha. Regardless, I don’t have much of an impression of these two together because they don’t seem to have much chemistry with each other as compared to some of the other actors that Yang Mi has been paired with. But this is just my opinion. For those who’ve watched The Prince’s Education, please feel free to give your input on what you think about this pairing.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: The Prince’s Education (2008) & Chinese Paladin 3 (2009)

 

Ethan Li/Li Dong Xue (李东学)
Another pairing that I don’t have much of an impression on. I didn’t watch the drama, but Yang Mi is very beautiful in it! I saw some pictures of it, and Li Dong Xue is very dashing! In my opinion, he’s always been very handsome. It’s just a pity that he doesn’t have many hit dramas under his name, other than Legend of Zhen Huan.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: My Bratty Bride (2012)

 

Mickey He/He Cheng Min (何晟铭)
I’ve always thought these two were an awkward couple. When I see them together, I automatically think about the older brother-younger sister relationship, as he does give off the older brother vibe. Otherwise, I don’t have much of an opinion, as I don’t really think they have much chemistry together anyway.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Schemes of a Beauty (2010) & Palace (2011)

 

Li Yi Feng (李易峰)
Oh Li Yi Feng… Such a handsome man! Even though Swords of Legends wasn’t the first drama he starred in, it was definitely THE drama that got him to be China’s #1 man for the year of 2014 and 2015, and probably even 2016 (due to Legend of Chusen). His popularity has definitely risen above and beyond in recent years, and I think it’ll just continue to rise as he just keeps getting more and more handsome. Hehehe… Anyway, even though it wasn’t the best pairing, I still thought they were a cute couple in the end.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Swords of Legends (2014)

 

Huang Xuan (黄轩)
I didn’t even who Huang Xuan was until this drama (and The Imperial Doctress with Liu Shi Shi and Wallace Huo). But the moment I saw him, I found him to be very alluring. He’s definitely got some charming features to his look because he looks great in a suit, and his portrayal of Cheng Jia Yang was very charming (even though he was a bit a jerk in the beginning). Regardless, he’s good at playing the arrogant alpha male stereotype character (which I’m not too fond of). But, anyway, I think he’s one of those actors who have great potential and is very good at what they’re doing.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: The Interpreters (2016)

 

Mark Chao/Zhao You Ting (赵又廷)
I have always liked Mark Chao for some unknown reason. He doesn’t have much dramas under his belt and his movies were only okay. BUT there was always something about him that I found very, very charming. I mean, he is drop dead HANDSOME. I am so jealous that Gao Yuan Yuan gets him all for herself (she is one lucky woman). Anyway, his popularity definitely rose up to another level because of his role as Ye Hua in Eternal Love. And I know that he mainly takes on movie roles, but I’m very curious as to what drama he’s going to pick up next. I hope it’s another ancient drama!!! PS: He is fluent in English because he has lived in Canada. If you get the chance, go hear him speak English, it’s verrrryyyyyy HOT!
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Eternal Love (2017)

 

Huang Zi Tao (黄子韬)
I was never convinced that these two would look good together as a couple. It just seems like she’s the older sister and he’s the younger brother. I think the drama was a big hit, but I didn’t watch it because I just wasn’t feeling their chemistry as a couple.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: The Negotiator (2018)

 

 

 

Ethan Ruan/Ruan Jing Tian (阮经天)
I haven’t see Ethan in anything but the Taiwanese drama Fated to Love You with Joe Chen (which was YEARS ago!). I think his popularity kind of died down afterwards because he definitely dropped out of the radar for me. So, I was a bit (VERY) disappointed when I heard he was going to headline Legend of Fu Yao with Yang Mi. I wanted it to be someone with more experience in ancient Chinese dramas (someone like WANG KAI ^_^!). But I may have to change my mind soon because I’ve seen the trailers and he doesn’t seem too bad in it so far. Maybe the producers wanted to make another Mark Chao miracle of using Yang Mi’s high status to boost another Taiwanese actor into stardom in Mainland China. But who knows… Regardless, I’ll make my judgements when the drama comes out. Hopefully, he can win over the viewers.
Drama(s) with Yang Mi: Legend of Fu Yao (upcoming)

 

So, what do you think? It’s amazing how Yang Mi got to romance all these men, right? She is so lucky!!! Personally, my all-time favorite pairing is Yang Mi and Hu Ge (and it will always be them together forever in my heart!). These two were just amazing together, and I did once wish that they would end up together in real life (which unfortunately will never happen). However, at least I can always go back to watch their dramas together to live out my fantasy. >_<

Anyway, which pairing is your favorite? Who would you like to see Yang Mi collaborate with in the future? Please share below.

19 thoughts on “[FEATURE] Yang Mi’s Leading Men

  1. I love Yang Mi. I think she’s really talented in bringing out the best in her co-star. I loved Fuyao and Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms. I can’t wait to see Novoland Pearl Eclipse. I hope the chemistry between the lead actors will be as amazing as the previous Yang Mi dramas.

    Like

  2. where to watch following yang mi old dramas???
    Hu Fu Chuan Qi aka Legend of the Military Seal 2012
    Liao Zhai Zhi Yi (2005)
    Diao Man Xin Niang aka my bratty bride (2012)
    Ru Yi (2012)

    Like

  3. I just started Chinese drama and thanks to Yang Mi I like it..I enjoyed Ten miles from peach blossom with Mark Chao and Legend of Fuyao with Ethan Ruan..I am waiting for more drama with her..especially like those two

    Like

  4. I think she generated some buzz for her costars like Mark and Ethan. Others like LYF and Tao would have been popular regardless.

    Like

  5. I don;t think she is the best actress but she has a good touch for projects and leading men. Seeing this list I wonder why Justin Yuan/Yuan Hong isn’t a bigger star. He is good looking and a good actor. I guess I’m biased too because he was my favourite brother in Bu Bu Jing Xin!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this article, since In my opinion, Yang Mi is one of the best actresses when it comes to generating sizzling chemistry with her male costars. (And it shows in how popular her pairings often become with viewers.)

    My first ever YM drama was also Liao Zhai (and her lovely portrayal of Xiao Qian made me follow her dramas ever since) so of course my favourite YM pairing is with Hu Ge! Unfortunately I didn’t really enjoy CP3 that much (even though I was beyond excited when they originally announced YM/HG were reuniting again, it ultimately fell flat for me). Just not my type of drama I guess. I’m really sad that was the last collab they’ve done since I am big fans of both individually as well. 😦

    My second favourite YM male costar is Li Dong Xue so I’m thrilled you included him here! (Since he’s probably one of the least famous/popular actor on the list, unfortunately.) I just want to point out, he and YM actually acted together twice as well: the first time was in one of YM’s earlier dramas, “Da Qin Zhi Dao”. They were a really cute couple in that one, and it’s a pretty good drama if you like historical ones. I also liked them together in “My Bratty Bride”–even though that drama was low-budget and rather “campy” (I think this drama was from YM’s “blacklisted” days so she didn’t have too much to choose from), I thought the two of them made it worth a watch. As you mentioned, YM also looked absolutely gorgeous in her various qipao’s (it’s too bad she doesn’t wear qipao that often in dramas because she has a gorgeous figure that looks stunning in a qipao). And LDX was extremely handsome in both dramas, of course! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

      1. After filming Chinese Paladin 3, Yang Mi and the other actors/actresses that were in the drama became extremely popular. They all had signed on to promote a game ad and Yang Mi was the only one that didn’t sign on to do it because she was doing another ad for another game. This caused friction to build between her and the company (Tangren). BUT, honestly, this is only ONE of the versions. Other versions talk about her relationship with Hu Ge (which was never confirmed) being a factor, that she had an argument with Tangren’s CEO over some things, and other stuff… I’m not really sure myself, too. But I remember it being VERY messy and not good for her after CP3.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. @alwayszhenin: Thanks for explaining. I had no idea! That makes her current success even more impressive – she’s really turned things around in the last few years.

          Like

          1. alwayszhenxin touched on most of it already. The whole thing took place approx. between 2009-2011. To add on to it: due to various reasons, the CEO of Tangren really disliked YM after CP3 and discouraged other companies in the industry from hiring YM for projects (among other things, I think she went around publicly announcing how difficult YM is to work with etc). Of course as viewers we don’t know the whole story, but I read that the bad blood started from the aforementioned video game ad, which was supposed to include the entire main cast of CP3. Apparently YM did initially agree to it as well, but in the end she had to back out due to the conflict with another video game project that her company had signed her up for. I can certainly see why that pissed off Tangren, but honestly it was all business so I don’t know why the CEO took it so personally and made it her mission to discredit YM after that. (Of note, soon after that YM left the management company she was signed with at the time…although it’s possible it was due to unrelated reasons.)

            Also while there are rumours about it, I don’t think any potential relationship with Hu Ge was a factor, because during the whole mess Hu Ge actually made a post on weibo supporting Yang Mi and standing behind her character (which I thought was really nice of him because he of course was a Tangren employee, so I can’t imagine Tangren would be happy about that). If anything, if YM/HG were indeed at one point in a relationship (debatable and never confirmed), I think it would’ve been the Tangren friction that contributed to their breakup afterwards and definitely not the other way around.

            At any rate, YM was stuck with very limited dramas to choose from for quite some time after that. She only got popular again after Yu Zheng took a chance on her, first with Mei Ren Xin Ji, then Gong. (Yu Zheng and the Tangren CEO got into some very public fights over it as well and Yu Zheng outright said he was glad he didn’t listen to Tangren because YM was very professional and a good worker.)

            Anyways, YM herself has commented very little on the whole situation and tried to ignore the entire mess (which I think is probably for the best). She did, however, allude to this period of time in one of her interviews, where she was asked why she took on so many projects. This was right after she got super popular with Gong, and many people felt she was not selective enough in choosing good projects. Yang Mi said that because she had gone through a period of time where she had a difficult time finding work, now that the offers started coming she wanted to take all the opportunities she was given and didn’t want to turn anything away.

            But yes, I definitely admire her hard work and perseverance through everything. Funnily enough I think Hu Ge is also the one who summed it up the best in the end: on a talkshow he was asked to comment on four of his female costars. For Yang Mi, he said, “what is gold will always shine in the end” (which I feel alludes to the fact that she was once “covered up/hidden”).

            Like

            1. @mango_cake: Thanks so much for taking the time to additionally elaborate on all of this. As i’m realtivelynew to C-dramas and cannot speak or read Mandarin this is all fascinating and eye-opening to me!

              Like

  7. WHOOOOAAAA!! Sooooo LOVING your article about our BELOVED YANGMI! We were praying and hoping that someone out there would articulately write about it! YES…INDEED YangMi brings LUCK and CHARISMA to her chosen Lead partners especially MARKCHAO who is LOVED by millions of avid fans because of his RESPLENDENT Chemistry with YANGMI..Desperately waiting for more Drama for them TOGETHER…Got to like HuangXiaoming with YANGMI in their Movie MY SUNSHINe. Friends in many countries endorses YANGMI’s drama with her husband HAWICK LAU “Clear Midsummer Night” as very Romantic and feel good drama but the streaming site we use to watch does not have Eng Sub for it..where to watch with Eng Sub??…Anyways, Salute and Kudos to you for this..LOVE you for this and More to come please..😘😘😘 (may we follow you on Twitter)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yangmi definitely bring luck to her costars. I meant even with Tao’s acting and and meh script of Negotiator yet he still gained popularity. I agree YM and Tao look look like couple. She doesn’t need a kid to be her man.

    My favorite pairings with her are with Mark, HX, HuGe and hopeful Ethan soon

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yang Mi has that midas touch❤❤❤ I thimk Hu Ge, Mark, LYF are my top three, I looked her chemistry with them the most. You could feel it from anywhere😍😍😍 also, I never watched her with Harwick, never realized until now😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.